top of page

Our Story

The Oklahoma Flute Society was created to benefit anyone who loves the flute, and offers learning and performance opportunities for students, teachers, and professional players. Founded in 1994, OFS is a non-profit organization dedicated to promoting flute study and performance in Oklahoma while also encouraging camaraderie among flutists and the highest standards of pedagogy and performance. The OFS sponsors numerous events each year, including the annual Flute Fair, Solo and Ensemble Festival, Members’ Recital and Honor Flute Choir events. Guest artists have included Hilary Abigana, Keith Underwood, Jan Vinci, Molly Barth, Jeffrey Zook, Joshua Smith, Flutronix, Nicole Esposito, Greg Pattillo, Christina Jennings, Ann Fairbanks, Tadeu Coelho, Robert Dick, Jonathan Keeble, Walfrid Kujala, Helen Blackburn, Patricia George, Catherine McMichael, George Pope and Marianne Gedigian. Also committed to promoting new repertoire for solo flute and flute choir, OFS commissions and premieres include Ray E. Luke’s Sonata for Flute and Piano (1999), Catherine McMichael’s Salt of the Earth (2004), Grace Wiley Smith’s Oklahoma Landscapes (2007), Samuel Magrill’s Serenade for Flute Choir (2008), Cynthia Folio’s Quintlexia (2013), Nicole Chamberlain's Asphyxia (2016), Vince Norman’s Dreams of a Flutopian Future (2019), and Allison Loggins-Hull’s Hide and Seek (2020).

bottom of page